CBF1000

CBF1000 => CBF1000 - General Discussion => Topic started by: Chelseafan on 25 November, 2013, 11:06:54 AM

Title: I can't believe I messed up fitting a new battery
Post by: Chelseafan on 25 November, 2013, 11:06:54 AM
I decided to fit a new battery because I leave the bike outside and the Shorei seems to be very sensitive to temperatures below freezing. I had two years of having to crank it for about 15 minutes to get the battery warm enough to deliver enough voltage.

Unbelievably I managed intially to fit the new one the wrong way round thus reversing the polarity. I did not check before connecting because I thought wrongly that there was only one way that it would go in.

Anyway the upshot was that the fuel primer came on and would not go off and nothing else worked. Also the alarm stared to bleep continuously. I checked all the fuses I could see but could not workout how to access the main fuse that is beneath the battery cradle.

So I gave up and have arranged for the bike to be taken to my dealer and let the experts sort it out. Meanwhile I had to park it as far away from the house as possible, wrapped in dust sheet under the bike cover to muffle the alarm. Fortunately the alarm battery only lasted about 10 hours!

An expensive mistake and a warning that even battry replacement requires attention to detail!
Title: Re: I can't believe I messed up fitting a new battery
Post by: shumba on 25 November, 2013, 11:56:45 AM
Go on with you this has got to be a wind up . You would obviously  have taken the battery lead of if  the alarm was stuck on.Nice try.
Title: Re: I can't believe I messed up fitting a new battery
Post by: Chelseafan on 25 November, 2013, 12:02:40 PM
No wind up. The alarm continues even when the bike battery is disconnected becuase it has it own battery - otherwise it would be easy for a thief to silence the alarm.
I have no idea where the alarm battery is and so could not disconnect it - and that i how it should be otherwise no point in having an alarm.
Title: Re: I can't believe I messed up fitting a new battery
Post by: richardcbf on 25 November, 2013, 12:44:06 PM
*Originally Posted by Chelseafan [+]
....Anyway the upshot was that the fuel primer came on and would not go off and nothing else worked. Also the alarm stared to bleep continuously. I checked all the fuses I could see but could not workout how to access the main fuse that is beneath the battery cradle.

So I gave up and have arranged for the bike to be taken to my dealer and let the experts sort it out. Meanwhile I had to park it as far away from the house as possible, wrapped in dust sheet under the bike cover to muffle the alarm. Fortunately the alarm battery only lasted about 10 hours!....

Presumably you reconnected (correctly) a battery and by 'nothing worked' does that include the instrument (panel/dashboard) lights?

For fuse loaction see this thread...
Fuse issues?
https://www.cbf1000.com/index.php?topic=15073.0 (https://www.cbf1000.com/index.php?topic=15073.0)

Also, this may or may not be relevant to your case, but a previous solution.....
*Originally Posted by janper [+]
Re: Accidentally reversed battery polarity
Ah, great :) I checked all the fuses, except the 15A one hidden below the ABS fuses. :) Everything works now. Thanks for the help.
https://www.cbf1000.com/index.php/topic,5460.msg69727.html#msg69727 (https://www.cbf1000.com/index.php/topic,5460.msg69727.html#msg69727)
Title: Re: I can't believe I messed up fitting a new battery
Post by: Chelseafan on 25 November, 2013, 01:36:38 PM
Thats right - after I reconnected the right way there was no elictrical life beyond the alarm. Not even the hazard lights. The alarm was bleeping as opposed to shrieking because it had been disconnected from the main power source.

So I am fairly sure it is a fuse problem. I checked the bank of three fuses attached to the battery cradle and the six or so under the seat and replaced one but still no power. The handbook says the main fuse is reached behind the battery and after something is taken off. But I did not feel confident disassembling these parts. So now the bike is with the dealer and hopefully they will sort it out quickly.

Next time I need a battery I will get the professionals to fit it.
Title: Re: I can't believe I messed up fitting a new battery
Post by: richardcbf on 25 November, 2013, 02:00:07 PM
*Originally Posted by Chelseafan [+]
Thats right - after I reconnected the right way there was no elictrical life beyond the alarm. Not even the hazard lights. The alarm was bleeping as opposed to shrieking because it had been disconnected from the main power source.

So I am fairly sure it is a fuse problem. I checked the bank of three fuses attached to the battery cradle and the six or so under the seat and replaced one but still no power. The handbook says the main fuse is reached behind the battery and after something is taken off.  But I did not feel confident disassembling these parts. So now the bike is with the dealer and hopefully they will sort it out quickly.

Next time I need a battery I will get the professionals to fit it.

Fingers crossed for you that it's only a fuse.  :155:
Title: Re: I can't believe I messed up fitting a new battery
Post by: Chelseafan on 25 November, 2013, 02:16:57 PM
That diagram is very helpful and is exactly the fuse I was trying to get at. Access is quite restricted and I could not get the cover off and was frighted to force it in case I broke something.
Title: Re: I can't believe I messed up fitting a new battery
Post by: johnstg2 on 25 November, 2013, 02:54:18 PM
Great design, putting the fuse in there....  NOT!
Title: Re: I can't believe I messed up fitting a new battery
Post by: Bifferman on 25 November, 2013, 04:24:00 PM
Other than of course this is not a fuse that your would normally expect to have to replace.  The irony is that it is located next to the battery and it doesn't tell you what to do if it's not the fuse :012: .
 
I'm with RichardCBF on this.  The issue has cropped up a few times before although I have to say that after it happened the first time on here I had a good look at my battery to see if I could connect the terminals the wrong way round and I found it close to impossible (cables insufficient length) - so how did you manage it  :187: .
 
I can't quite remember but would I be right in thinking that these fuses are only available from Honda (probably at a price  :156: ) or is it just a bog standard 30 amp spade fuse.
 
Andy
 :149:
 
 
Title: Re: I can't believe I messed up fitting a new battery
Post by: Chelseafan on 25 November, 2013, 05:14:44 PM
Like Bifferman I thought it was impossible to put the battery in the wrong way round and so it never occured to me that I could have done it. It happended because the battery is square in profile and the terminals can be connected on the top or the front. It is therefore quite easy to put the battery in laying it on its rear side rather than the base. The terminals are still presented at the top but now they are reversed with the negative on the left and the positive on the right.  To make matters worse the labels now appear on the top of the battery and are less obvious than on the front which would be the case with a correctly fitted battery.

Ironically I was replacing a Shorei which is a tall thin battery so there is no way you could make the same mistake with that one.

Hopefully my mistake will alert others who will not fall intot he same trap.
Title: Re: I can't believe I messed up fitting a new battery
Post by: richardcbf on 25 November, 2013, 05:23:02 PM
*Originally Posted by Bifferman [+]
Other than of course this is not a fuse that your would normally expect to have to replace.  The irony is that it is located next to the battery and it doesn't tell you what to do if it's not the fuse :012: .
 
I'm with RichardCBF on this.  The issue has cropped up a few times before although I have to say that after it happened the first time on here I had a good look at my battery to see if I could connect the terminals the wrong way round and I found it close to impossible (cables insufficient length) - so how did you manage it  :187: .
 
I can't quite remember but would I be right in thinking that these fuses are only available from Honda (probably at a price  :156: ) or is it just a bog standard 30 amp spade fuse.
 
Andy
 :149:
I've not had my bike apart to look, buy I think it's a 'standard' blade type.
See items 10 & 18 here....
10 = SWITCH ASSY., STARTER MAGNETIC (Starter solenoid relay) part number 35850-MT4-000
18 = FUSE, BLADE (30A) part number 98200-33000
http://www.bike-parts-honda.com/pieces-honda-detail-75-17MFA6I1-CBF10006-2006-F__2900-CBF+1000.html (http://www.bike-parts-honda.com/pieces-honda-detail-75-17MFA6I1-CBF10006-2006-F__2900-CBF+1000.html)

and, for photos, these items.....
http://www.ebay.co.uk/sch/i.html?_trksid=p2050601.m570.l1313&_nkw=cbf1000+starter+relay&_sacat=0&_from=R40 (http://www.ebay.co.uk/sch/i.html?_trksid=p2050601.m570.l1313&_nkw=cbf1000+starter+relay&_sacat=0&_from=R40)
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/UNIVERSAL-30-AMP-STANDARD-BLADE-CAR-FUSES-PACK-OF-3-BLF30L-/181185855929 (http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/UNIVERSAL-30-AMP-STANDARD-BLADE-CAR-FUSES-PACK-OF-3-BLF30L-/181185855929)
Title: Re: I can't believe I messed up fitting a new battery
Post by: Chelseafan on 26 November, 2013, 10:19:44 AM
Good news - bike fixed and the only damage was the fuse.
Title: Re: I can't believe I messed up fitting a new battery
Post by: Bifferman on 26 November, 2013, 10:38:22 AM
*Originally Posted by Chelseafan [+]
Good news - bike fixed and the only damage was the fuse.

Go on then let us know, what was the total £ damage to have the dealer change a fuse. 
Title: Re: I can't believe I messed up fitting a new battery
Post by: Chelseafan on 26 November, 2013, 10:46:14 AM
So you guys can have a good laugh at my exense the damage was £45 for Bikermedics to collect my bike and deliver to the dealer, £33 for the dealer to diagnose problem , replace fuse, refit battery etc. and it will be about £10 for a taxi tomorrow morning to take me to the dealer so I can collect the bike.

Irritating but not excessive - lesson learned is that it would have been cheaper and easier to get the dealer to fit it in the first place.

Title: Re: I can't believe I messed up fitting a new battery
Post by: Robo on 26 November, 2013, 10:58:07 AM
 :430:
Title: Re: I can't believe I messed up fitting a new battery
Post by: johnstg2 on 26 November, 2013, 12:31:02 PM
Expensive lesson....but could have been much worse. Glad you're back on the road.
Title: Re: I can't believe I messed up fitting a new battery
Post by: r32 on 27 November, 2013, 10:21:24 AM
I'm pleased for you that it was nothing more serious. :430:
Title: Re: I can't believe I messed up fitting a new battery
Post by: richardcbf on 27 November, 2013, 11:23:33 AM
*Originally Posted by Chelseafan [+]
Good news - bike fixed and the only damage was the fuse.
Yeh, good news, phew! Thanks for sharing as a good lesson for when I do mine soon.
Which 'dealer' did you use, e.g., HGB Ruislip or Chiswick Honda?
Title: Re: I can't believe I messed up fitting a new battery
Post by: Lew4406 on 27 November, 2013, 04:27:50 PM
When I got my cbf I wanted to fit the trickle charge......after 30 minutes of trying to get the seat off I called Westy......he took great pleasure in telling me it was under the side panel ........ :138:
Title: Re: I can't believe I messed up fitting a new battery
Post by: Robo on 27 November, 2013, 05:45:56 PM
 
*Originally Posted by Lew4406 [+]
When I got my cbf I wanted to fit the trickle charge......after 30 minutes of trying to get the seat off I called Westy......he took great pleasure in telling me it was under the side panel ........ :138:

 :430: that's why they have manuals :087:
Title: Re: I can't believe I messed up fitting a new battery
Post by: Lew4406 on 27 November, 2013, 06:07:14 PM
 :173:
*Originally Posted by Robo [+]

 :430: that's why they have manuals :087:

I know...but I had my BMW and two bandits before that and it had always been under the seat or top panel......I just assumed!!!!!!!
Title: Re: I can't believe I messed up fitting a new battery
Post by: Robo on 27 November, 2013, 06:35:43 PM
*Originally Posted by Lew4406 [+]
:173:
I know...but I had my BMW and two bandits before that and it had always been under the seat or top panel......I just assumed!!!!!!!

You get worse ?

2 bandits and a BMW,,,,,, :151: :151: :151: sounds like highway robbery.

Have to start calling you dicky turpin :150: :150:
Title: Re: I can't believe I messed up fitting a new battery
Post by: Lew4406 on 27 November, 2013, 07:11:47 PM
*Originally Posted by Robo [+]
You get worse ?

2 bandits and a BMW,,,,,, :151: :151: :151: sounds like highway robbery.

Have to start calling you dicky turpin :150: :150:


 :008:     :mfrlol:
Title: Re: I can't believe I messed up fitting a new battery
Post by: phild on 27 November, 2013, 07:41:51 PM
I've made a similar error.

Back in the early 80's my brother asked me to wire in his new Radio/ Cassette player ( remember them? ) into his Triumph car.

All went well until I powered it up, melting all the wires leading to it............ it had a positive earth.  :430:
Title: Re: I can't believe I messed up fitting a new battery
Post by: Chelseafan on 29 November, 2013, 04:17:41 PM
In reply to Richard - I used Chiswick Honda - the cost of the battery was £71. I got it there becuase it is easier to collect from them than from the courier service if you buy on line.

In reply to Robbo - you would have been Ok taking the seat off if you needed to change the battery. Although it is behind the panel, you can't get it out without taking the seat off. 
Title: Re: I can't believe I messed up fitting a new battery
Post by: alan sh on 29 November, 2013, 04:23:14 PM
Yes you can. No need to remove the seat.

Alan
Title: Re: I can't believe I messed up fitting a new battery
Post by: Robo on 29 November, 2013, 04:33:58 PM
*Originally Posted by alan sh [+]
Yes you can. No need to remove the seat.

Alan

 :0461:............Just the right hand side panel
Title: Re: I can't believe I messed up fitting a new battery
Post by: Chelseafan on 29 November, 2013, 04:34:32 PM
I suspect it depends on what height you have set the seat. If, like mine, it is at the lowest height then the seat gets in the way of removing the the battery and its cradle. I have even seen my dealer take the seat off to change the battery on my bike.

What height is your's set to Alan?
Title: Re: I can't believe I messed up fitting a new battery
Post by: Robo on 29 November, 2013, 04:39:17 PM
*Originally Posted by Chelseafan [+]
I suspect it depends on what height you have set the seat. If, like mine, it is at the lowest height then the seat gets in the way of removing the the battery and its cradle. I have even seen my dealer take the seat off to change the battery on my bike.

What height is your's set to Alan?

top/middle or bottom all you need to do is remove the side panel
Title: Re: I can't believe I messed up fitting a new battery
Post by: richardcbf on 29 November, 2013, 05:04:09 PM
*Originally Posted by Chelseafan [+]
I suspect it depends on what height you have set the seat. If, like mine, it is at the lowest height then the seat gets in the way of removing the the battery and its cradle. I have even seen my dealer take the seat off to change the battery on my bike.

What height is your's set to Alan?

I've not yet needed to remove my battery (let alone the seat which is at 'mid' position), but am expecting to soon, so good to know, even though I have the 'manual', as attached!  :156:
Title: Re: I can't believe I messed up fitting a new battery
Post by: Bifferman on 30 November, 2013, 10:41:34 AM
Chelseafan, don't remove the seat to replace the battery on the MKI.  One 5mm (I think) allen bolt and you will expose the battery.  We all speak the truth :028: .

AFAIK the battery IS under the seat on the MKII and you would have to remove the front seat and seat bracket to access/remove.
 
Andy
 :149:
Title: Re: I can't believe I messed up fitting a new battery
Post by: elmandarino on 17 August, 2015, 02:52:07 PM
Hi guys,

I thought it would be worth reinstating this thread as I have just done the same thing and a number of Mk2s will soon need their battery replacing. It is so easy to do, if you do not take notice. The battery fits comfortably in either position so it is crucial you check the markings on the battery before fitting. I didn't but then I should not be allowed out on my own.

The information in this thread was invaluable so the cost to me, apart from the new battery (another story), was one fuse. Thank you all who contributed.

Title: Re: I can't believe I messed up fitting a new battery
Post by: paulca on 17 August, 2015, 03:25:20 PM
DC Electrics have a rule.

Black to black or you don't get your money back.
Title: Re: I can't believe I messed up fitting a new battery
Post by: Bifferman on 17 August, 2015, 06:29:45 PM
*Originally Posted by elmandarino [+]
Hi guys,

I thought it would be worth reinstating this thread as I have just done the same thing and a number of Mk2s will soon need their battery replacing. It is so easy to do, if you do not take notice. The battery fits comfortably in either position so it is crucial you check the markings on the battery before fitting. I didn't but then I should not be allowed out on my own.

The information in this thread was invaluable so the cost to me, apart from the new battery (another story), was one fuse. Thank you all who contributed.

Elmandarino my friend, you searched the older threads, hat off to you mate :020:
Title: Re: I can't believe I messed up fitting a new battery
Post by: Robo on 17 August, 2015, 09:00:54 PM
*Originally Posted by Bifferman [+]
Elmandarino my friend, you searched the older threads, hat off to you mate :020:

 :435: :420: shame you couldn't fit it right first time :172:

 :431: 

But what about next time :261:
Title: Re: I can't believe I messed up fitting a new battery
Post by: Possumbob on 19 April, 2019, 03:22:56 AM
OK so it's now an old thread but I know lots of people rely on forums and you never know when someone has been helped.  So a shout to thank the above.  Very similar case to OP - I was in a rush, surely it only goes in one way but nah... Zzk zzk.  It looked so right too in my slightly darkish garage. 

Thanks to the OP for making me feel like less of a unique idiot.

I have a mk1 in Australia - our only mark.  Exact same symptoms - fuel pump running then no dash lights no start.  Main 30amp (the larger size) fuse burnt through. No other damage.  Points to note - I didn't have to remove the starter relay (just behind the battery), instead went through seat assembly and removed that (including under seat support frame).  Could then open up the fuse slot under the cap and, with the right swear words, put in a new one. YMMV. 

Note that unless the PO has helpfully not replaced it after using it, there is a spare 30amp fuse under the relay. 

Thanks to the OP for asking and thanks to those who answered, and thanks to the forum for saving me a load of trouble.

And yes lesson learned.  if you haven't the time to do it properly you don't have the time to do it twice.

Possumbob
Title: Re: I can't believe I messed up fitting a new battery
Post by: phild on 19 April, 2019, 08:53:41 PM
Think we need a ‘Confessional Thread’.....I’ve got a few if anyone starts one! :028:
Title: Re: I can't believe I messed up fitting a new battery
Post by: jm2 on 19 April, 2019, 10:16:55 PM
Starting with people resurecting 5½ year old threads.