Author [ES] [CA] [PL] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [DK] [NO] [GR] [TR] Topic: puzzled by stator readings.  (Read 878 times)

Offline DrTearjerker

• CBF Member
  • Bike: Cbf1000 06
  • City / Town: east flanders
puzzled by stator readings.
« on: 16 July, 2020, 08:16:29 PM »
hey guys, i changed my battery a while back because starting and re-starting after short drive in particular became an issue.
the battery of my MK1 cbf1000 was pretty old so it was due.

Now after a few times that i went on a drive the battery charge was low yet again.

I suspect the stator, but my readings throw me off.

First i would like to say i am not very good with the multimeter, its sorcery i tellz ya!  :165:

fully charged; 12.65V
ignition on: 12,15V
engine start: drops to between 10,50v -11V
engine runs: back to about 12,15V
revving up to 5000rpm : voltage goes up slightly to 12.35V (max)

tested the stator i get readings between 00.3 - 00.4 Ohm (the manual says between 0.1 and 1ohm)
the lowest selection on my meter is 200 ohm so it reads 00.3 -00.4 and that would be 0.3-0.4 Ohm.
when we deduct the 0.1 resistance from the leads that leaves 0.2-0.3 Ohm that would indicate it is fine. but i suspect it is tired and in need of replacement :027:

after that i tested the rectifier ,and seems fine.

So i think i will be replace the stator anyway, what do you guys think?

« Last Edit: 16 July, 2020, 08:17:30 PM by DrTearjerker »

Offline FLIZ

• CBF Pro
  • Bike: Honda CBF1000A9
  • City / Town: North Yorkshire
Re: puzzled by stator readings.
« Reply #1 on: 16 July, 2020, 09:59:10 PM »
When revving up to 5000rpm you should be getting more like 13 to 14 volts. If you search the forum you will find plenty of advice to help with diagnosis of stator and rectifier.

Offline g5guzzi

• CBF Pro
  • Bike: cbf1000fa
  • City / Town: kirton lincs
« Reply #2 on: 16 July, 2020, 10:00:26 PM »
Hi DrTearjerker
did you check each of the stator wires to earth? there should be