Author [ES] [CA] [PL] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [DK] [NO] [GR] [TR] Topic: Looking for advice on aftermarket can for Mk2  (Read 918 times)

Offline FrasMac

• CBF Pro
  • Bike: CBF1000FA GT
  • City / Town: Stewarton
Looking for advice on aftermarket can for Mk2
« on: 30 July, 2017, 09:20:18 AM »
Hi all,

Getting along nicely with my Mk2 but a little part of me wants her to sound a bit throatier.
Is anyone willing to share their success stories with whatever brand of slip-on or full system you have fitted, are there any real bargains to be had, will doing this work affect my warranty, will I need a power commander as well, etc etc

Sorry for the comprehensive list, but I've never done anything like this before, apart from fitting some anti-social peashooters to a Triumph Legend I once owned, which was a lot less technical looking!

Thanks in advance!   

Offline Ali-bear

• CBF Master
  • Bike: Mk2 Biffer
  • City / Town: Bristol
Re: Looking for advice on aftermarket can for Mk2
« Reply #1 on: 31 July, 2017, 10:45:21 AM »
Lots of people do this on the Mk2.
You don't need a power commander (dreadful things IMHO) because the CBF is in a relatively low state of tune. Putting a free-flowing exhaust on the back does not change the engine gas flow significantly (it's to do with valve timing overlap) so you don't have to mess about with the fueling. But you won't get any power gains either.
What you do gain is a big weight saving because the standard can including catalytic converter and the flappy valve thing plus actuating motor weight quite a bit, compared with an aftermarket can. Plus you never have to worry about the flappy valve sticking and the motor burning out (because this would happen eventually).
Also aftermarket cans always look cooler.