Author [ES] [CA] [PL] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [DK] [NO] [GR] [TR] Topic: mk1 digital speedo  (Read 1678 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Robo

  • CBF God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4322
  • CBF1000 2007-2010 built from all years!!
  • Bike: MK1
  • City / Town: By The Sea
  • Country: Uk
Re: mk1 digital speedo
« Reply #10 on: 30 July, 2016, 08:16:23 PM »
But Why.

I'd upgrade my R/R , So people ask why I have mounted a old style TV to my bike or go to BHS before it closes down and get all their metal coat hangers and rewind the Stator.

You could be the man for MK2 stators :084:

Or by a Suzuki and have years of painless fun once you join the Bandit club.

 :028:
If theres a gap i can get through it !!!

Some people pay for an IAM... I am mad.....

Offline SaturnV

  • CBF Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 1231
  • Bike: CBF1000A9
  • City / Town: London
  • Country: England
Re: mk1 digital speedo
« Reply #11 on: 30 July, 2016, 08:36:28 PM »
Yeah you're right maybe I'm just looking for toys to add now lol.  Not a lot wrong with the standard instruments but I seem to have issues with sticking to 30mph or 70 for that matter!  I think my eyesight is getting to that point now and it's a trade-off between distance vision and close-up.   :431: but NO WAY am I ever gonna wear BI-FOCALS  :mfrlol:

I love analogue dials and would never wanna change the tachometer but just feel that a large LCD speed readout is so much easier to read at a glance...

The current trend towards digital readouts for BOTH speed and revs is probably more to do with lower cost and reliability than anything else though IMHO - i.e. solid state = less to go wrong in theory lol

Offline Ardi

  • CBF Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 171
  • Bike: cbf1000
  • City / Town: sydney
  • Country: australia
Re: mk1 digital speedo
« Reply #12 on: 30 July, 2016, 09:27:08 PM »
how about an old cheap smart phone with speedo app? and dead accurate. No wring needed.


Offline SaturnV

  • CBF Legend
  • *****
  • Posts: 1231
  • Bike: CBF1000A9
  • City / Town: London
  • Country: England
Re: mk1 digital speedo
« Reply #13 on: 30 July, 2016, 10:40:35 PM »
*Originally Posted by Ardi [+]
how about an old cheap smart phone with speedo app? and dead accurate. No wring needed.

Now there's an idea  :031:

Offline richardcbf

  • CBF God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4063
  • Try Google (" site:cbf1000.com + search word/s ")
  • Bike: CBF1000s Mk1/Mk2
  • City / Town: Surrey ('TW')
  • Country: England
Re: mk1 digital speedo
« Reply #14 on: 31 July, 2016, 07:45:22 AM »
*Originally Posted by Ardi [+]
how about an old cheap smart phone with speedo app? and dead accurate. No wring needed.


*Originally Posted by SaturnV [+]
Now there's an idea  :031:
If you're happy with a GPS based speedo, how about this?....

http://www.digital-speedos.co.uk/ds50-gps-speedometer-with-weatherproof-case-and-mount-for-motorcycles-1800-p.asp

or buy the unit, waterproof case and mount separately, e.g., starting with....

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Mitsugawa-inches-display-Wireless-Speedometer/dp/B009T7QHT8
(No one ever said on their deathbed, "Gee, I wish I had spent more time alone with my computer." Danielle Berry.) http://hmpg.net/

Offline alan sh

  • Article Editor
  • CBF God
  • *****
  • Posts: 4978
  • Bike: CBF1000/CB1300
  • City / Town: Rochdale
  • Country: UK
Re: mk1 digital speedo
« Reply #15 on: 31 July, 2016, 10:24:22 AM »
For that price, buy a SatNav which can display speed
Red MK II with full luggage, MRA screen, hugger, crash bungs, heated grips and Autocom.
CB1300SA with a few bits.
https://ourbikingholidays.wordpress.com/
https://mybikinghistory.wordpress.com/