Author [ES] [CA] [PL] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [DK] [NO] [GR] [TR] Topic: New Member  (Read 1293 times)

Offline 1madboiler

• CBF Master
  • Bike: Honda CBF1000
  • City / Town: Sunderland
« on: 11 April, 2013, 10:21:33 AM »
Hi everyone, Just registered and having a good look around before moving up to a CBF, I currently have an old Deauville 650, 105,000miles and counting, its a real 10 pint bike...looks great from about 15ft away but as you move in for the kill you get to see the true extent of all of those miles, I have my eye on a black gt on a 10 plate with high miles ...57k but a full and complete honda service history. I have a friend with a 06 CBF that he has recently bought and he loves it. I hadnt considered the CBF I was looking at a VFR 800 but a bad back and being a yorkshireman..(having to take off radiators to do a service and the VTEC gubbins etc...) I think the biffer is for me.
I have been biking now for 2 years after a lay off of 25yrs and I love the old deauville but its not really scratching the itch anymore. It was more of an experiment initially on whether I could do my job with a bike and whether my clients could accept seeing me in black leather...I think the leather looked better on the cow but thats another story... Any advice on what I need to look for when buying would be greatly received. Thanks

Offline Rev Ken

• CBF God
  • Growing old is compulsory; growing up is optional.
  • Bike: BMW F800GT
  • City / Town: Workington
Re: New Member
« Reply #1 on: 11 April, 2013, 10:26:38 AM »
Just try one! Coming from two DVs and with a back that has suffered from lifting the back end of an Austin A30 off a scooter rider many years ago, plus too long playing hooker, I added bar risers to get my 'perfect' riding position. Then I spent some time - and money - getting the right screen set-up for me and I can't wait to get out again on it after so few rides this year due to commitments and weather.